What is administrative system in China?

China’s administrative units are currently based on a three-tier system, dividing the nation into provinces, counties and townships: China’s Provinces, Autonomous Regions, Centrally Administered Municipalities and Special Administrative Regions.

How many administrative units does China have?

At the moment, China has 23 provinces, 5 autonomous regions, 4 municipalities directly under the Central Government and 2 special administrative regions.

What are the 2 administrative regions in China?

Special Administrative Regions (SARs) exist as relatively autonomous portions of a country that maintain some degree of political and economic independence. China has two important SARs, Hong Kong and Macau.

How many first order administrative units does China have?

There are 34 such divisions claimed by the People’s Republic of China, classified as 23 provinces (Chinese: 省; pinyin: shěng), four municipalities, five autonomous regions, and two Special Administrative Regions.

Which is the highest administrative body in China?

The National Supervisory Commission (NSC) is the highest supervisory (anti-corruption) agency of the PRC. At the same administrative ranking as the Supreme People’s Court and Supreme People’s Procuratorate, it supervises all public officials who exercise public power.

What do you mean by administrative region?

Administrative regions are the territorial units which a country is divided in. There is normally an administration with some government functions and powers connected to administrative regions. The jurisdiction of an administrative area normally covers the total area inside its borders.

What are the four municipalities in China?

In China, there are four municipalities directly under the Central Government, namely Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai and Chongqing.

What is an example of administrative region?

Administrative regions are the territorial units which a country is divided in. In some countries parts of the sea are also included in administrative regions. In Germany, some forests and other areas are excluded from the territorial subdivision in communes.

Where are the political institutions located in China?

Political Institutions. China has a four-level court system: at the top is the Supreme People’s Court in Beijing; lower courts are the higher people’s courts in provinces, autonomous regions, and special municipalities; intermediate people’s courts are at the prefecture level and also in parts of provinces, autonomous regions,…

What are the three administrative levels in China?

Levels. The Constitution of China provides for three levels: the provincial (province, autonomous region, municipality, and special administrative region), county, and township. However, two more levels have been inserted in actual implementation: the prefecture, under provinces; and the village, under townships.

What was the most recent administrative change in China?

The most recent administrative changes have included the elevation of Hainan (1988) and Chongqing (1997) to provincial level status, and the creation of Hong Kong (1997) and Macau (1999) as Special administrative regions . Provincial level governments vary in details of organization:

What was the first administrative division in China?

The Qin Dynasty was determined not to allow China to fall back into disunity, and therefore designed the first hierarchical administrative divisions in China, based on two levels: jùn commanderies and xiàn counties.