What is the highest Australia Day award?

The Medal of the Order of Australia
In the Australian honours system appointments to the Order of Australia confer the highest recognition for outstanding achievement and service. The Medal of the Order of Australia is awarded for service worthy of particular recognition. The Order of Australia has four levels: Companion of the Order (AC)

How do I get OAM?

Council for the Order of Australia

  1. demonstrated achievement at a high level.
  2. made a contribution over and above what might be reasonably expected through paid employment, or.
  3. whose voluntary contribution to the community stands out from others who have also made a valuable contribution.

Who decides on Order of Australia?

The council itself has 19 members, who are appointed by the governor general on the recommendation of the prime minister. The current chair is Shane Stone. Orders of Australia are awarded twice a year – on 26 January and the Queen’s birthday.

What is Australia’s highest civilian award?

The Cross of Valour
The Cross of Valour is awarded only for acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril. It is the highest Australian Bravery Decoration and the highest civilian bravery award in Australia.

Is Ao or am higher?

The Order of Australia has five levels: Knight/Dame of the Order (AK/AD) Companion of the Order (AC) Officer of the Order (AO) Member of the Order (AM), and Medal of the Order (OAM). The Order of Australia is the pre-eminent way Australians recognise the achievements and service of their fellow citizens.

What does AO mean after a name in Australia?

Officer of the Order
The Member of the Order of Australia is awarded for service in a particular locality or field of activity or to a particular group. The Order of Australia has four levels: Companion of the Order (AC) Officer of the Order (AO)

When did Australia Day fireworks start in Docklands?

“We understand the need to prioritise state resources in response to the bushfires,” Cr Capp said. The fireworks display, which usually attracts about 25,000 people, was due to kick off at 9pm on January 26 along the Harbour Esplanade in Docklands.

Who is the Development Authority for Docklands Melbourne?

Development Victoria is a Referral Authority for all planning applications in Docklands under the Melbourne Planning Scheme. At the completion of construction, Development Victoria and the City of Melbourne certify that development is complete to agreed design standards.

Where are the public spaces in Docklands Victoria?

The Docklands Community Garden is located in Geographe Street. Public open space projects such as Docklands Park, Victoria Green, Point Park, Sky Park and NewQuay Central Urban Park offer visitors, residents and workers access to promenades, recreational facilities, multi-purpose courts, public art and children’s playgrounds.

When did development Victoria take over Docklands?

Docklands is comprised of eight distinct precincts, used for residential, commercial, retail, dining and leisure. When Development Victoria was first handed responsibility for Docklands in the 1990s, the land was regarded as derelict.