Who won the 2009 24 Hours of Le Mans?

Winners of 24 Hours of Le Mans

year car drivers
2007 Audi R10 Franck Biela, Emanuele Pirro, Marco Werner
2008 Audi R10 Dindo Capello, Tom Kristensen, Allan McNish
2009 Peugeot 908 David Brabham, Marc Gené, Alexander Wurz
2010 Audi R15 Timo Bernhard, Romain Dumas, Mike Rockenfeller

What American cars have won the 24 Hours of Le Mans?

Few American race cars are as revered as the Ford GT, which earned motorsports immortality thanks to its podium sweep at the 1966 24 Hours of Le Mans (as depicted in the film Ford v Ferrari).

Who won 2009 Le Mans?

The race was attended by 234,800 spectators. Peugeot succeeded in winning the race in the third year of the 908 HDi FAP program with drivers David Brabham, Marc Gené, and Alexander Wurz driving the No. 9 car for 382 laps; an all-French driving squad secured second place for Peugeot as well.

Did Nissan ever win Le Mans?

Although Mazda is the only Japanese manufacturer to win the 24 Hours of Le Mans (1991), Nissan is perhaps the one that has most often made the attempt, particularly the memorable offensives of 1990 and 1998.

Who won Lemans 2015?

The race was won by the No. 19 Porsche of Nick Tandy and Le Mans rookies Earl Bamber and Nico Hülkenberg, followed a lap behind by the No. 17 Porsche of Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard.

Who won the 2010 Le Mans?

Audi’s success in the 2010 Le Mans 24 Hours marked the brand’s ninth victory in the iconic endurance race. Timo Bernhard (D), Romain Dumas (F) and Mike Rockenfeller (D) celebrated their first victory at La Sarthe.

What happened to the Delta Wing?

From 2012 through 2016, the odd-looking race car struggled to find its place—and acceptance. Take the DeltaWing, which made its racing debut at the 24 Hours of Le Mans as the Garage 56 entry in 2012 and closed out its racing life at Petit Le Mans in 2016.

Why did the GTR LM Nismo fail?

This had a huge effect on the car, for numerous reasons. The most obvious one being lack of power: with the full hybrid system in place, the GT-R LM is good for up to 1250bhp for short periods of time. The 3.0-litre V6 petrol engine on its own produces around 550bhp.

When did the 24 Hours of Le Mans start?

It took place at the Circuit de la Sarthe, Le Mans, France, and was organised by the Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) over 13–14 June 2009 and was started by Fiat and Ferrari chairman Luca Cordero di Montezemolo at 15:00 local time (13:00 UTC).

What was the accident at Le Mans in 2009?

The only major incident of the practice session was an accident by KSM’s driver Jean de Pourtales. The driver spun approaching the Dunlop Chicane, impacting a concrete barrier before sliding into a tire barrier. The second impact ripped much of the rear of the car off.

Who was the winner of the 1998 24 Hours of Le Mans?

The United States was also represented properly with a two car team from Panoz, with Ford powered Esperante GTR-1s, and factory-backed Chrysler Viper GTS-R in the GT2 class entered by Oreca . Porsche won the race as the faster cars from Mercedes, BMW and Toyota retired with mechanical difficulties and accident damage.

How many cars competed in Le Mans in 1998?

The two Nissans (one TWR, one Nova) and the ‘conventional’ Panoz made it comfortably, despite the #33 Nova Nissan spinning into a gravel trap after only 10 minutes of the session, later resuming with the spare rear bodywork from one of the TWR cars. In LMP1 there were 9 entries competing for 7 slots.