What is a Class 1 location?

Class I Locations A “Class I Location” is created by the presence of flammable gases or vapors in the air in sufficient quantities to be explosive or ignitable. When these materials are found in the atmosphere, a potential for explosion exists if an electrical or other source of ignition is present.

What is a Class 1 Division 1 motor?

What Exactly Is A Class 1, Division 1 Motor? Hazardous location motors are meant to operate in areas where the environment contains gases, vapors, or dust that is combustible or ignitable.

What is a Class 1 Div 2 enclosure?

So a Class 1 Division 2 Enclosure is used in facilities that deal with flammable gases, vapors, and liquid materials. Additionally, the facility handling, processing, or using the materials in the defined hazardous location contain concentrations insufficient to be ignitable.

Can NEMA 4X be used in Class 1 Div 2?

NEMA 4X: Provides the same protection as NEMA 4 with the inclusion of corrosion protection. ** NEMA 8: For either indoor or outdoor use in Class I, Division 2, Groups A, B, C or D hazardous locations according to NFPA 70, this is also referred to as oil immersed.

Is Class I Div 2 explosion proof?

A Class I Division 2 light are not held to as high of a standard as Division 1 products. To meet the requirements for Division 2, a light does not have to be able to contain an explosion. Instead, they must be found to be unable to cause an explosion in environments for which they are approved to be used.

Does Class 1 Div 2 require explosion proof motors?

While Division 1 motors in Class I locations must be explosion-proof, Class II, Division 1 motors must be dust- ignition-proof. Nameplate require- ments for Class I and Class II locations are essentially the same — the class, group, and T-code of the motor must be clearly displayed.

What is a Class 1 Division 2 motor?

Class I, Division 2. This classification usually includes locations where volatile flammable liquids or flammable gases or vapors are used, but which, in the judgment of the authority having jurisdiction, would become hazardous only in case of an accident or of some unusual operating condition.

Where can I find Class I Division 1 Motors?

Class I, Division I motors are most commonly required in fume-heavy areas such as petroleum refining plants, utility gas plants, gas stations, spray painting areas, and aircraft hangars. At Dietz, we specialize in the supply and servicing of a wide selection of Class I, Division 1 motors (Groups C and D) from a variety of leading manufacturers.

Which is more intense group a or Group D?

For example, Group A, which includes acetylene and hydrogen, creates an explosion that is more intense than a Group D material, such as ammonia or propane. Based on these classifications, Class I, Division 1 motors are built to operate in environments routinely exposed to significant quantities of potentially explosive atmospheric gases or vapors.

How are ignitable materials classified in Division 1?

Division defines the frequency of combustible materials in the atmosphere. In Division 1 locations, the explosive or ignitable materials are commonly present under normal working conditions. Group further classifies hazardous materials based on their behavior after they have been ignited.

What’s the difference between Div 1 and Div 2?

This is where the Divisions come in. “Div 1” means that these ignitable elements can exist during normal operations, as opposed to “Div 2” which means it’s possible, but not likely.