What are the five rules of fire safety?

Five Fire Safety Tips

  • Check that all smoke and fire alarms are functioning properly. Ideally, you should test your fire alarms once a month and replace batteries twice a year.
  • Have an actionable fire plan.
  • Never leave a room with an open flame.
  • Have at least one fire extinguisher.
  • Embrace the cliché—Stop, Drop, and Roll.

What are the fire safety guidelines?

Top Tips for Fire Safety

  • Install smoke alarms on every level of your home, inside bedrooms and outside sleeping areas.
  • Test smoke alarms every month.
  • Talk with all family members about a fire escape plan and practice the plan twice a year.
  • If a fire occurs in your home, GET OUT, STAY OUT and CALL FOR HELP.

Is a fire certificate a legal requirement?

A life safety fire risk assessment is a legal requirement for your premises. Fire certificates are no longer be issued as each individual company is responsible for fire safety. All businesses employing more than five people or licensed premises must conduct a Fire Risk Assessment that must be documented.

What are the minimum legal requirements for fire training?

It is a legal requirement that all employees undergo basic fire safety training at induction and periodically thereafter, expected annually in most workplaces. The training must be carried out by a competent person with suitable and sufficient skills and knowledge of fire safety.

What is the legal requirement for fire risk assessments?

If there are 5 regular occupants or more the fire risk assessment must be in writing. If your block of flats or business premises normally has over 4 residents at once, then you are legally required for your fire risk assessment to be documented.

Can I do a fire risk assessment myself?

In simple terms yes, there is no reason why you cannot complete your own fire safety risk assessment. The Fire Safety Risk Assessment must be completed by a “Competent Person”. Therefore you must have the necessary knowledge, skills and experience. The Fire Safety Risk Assessment must also be “Suitable and Sufficient”.

What are Class A and B fires?

There are four classes of fires: Class A: Ordinary solid combustibles such as paper, wood, cloth and some plastics. Class B: Flammable liquids such as alcohol, ether, oil, gasoline and grease, which are best extinguished by smothering.

What is basic home fire safety?

Never leave cooking or any other open flame including candles or oil burners unattended. Clean the lint filter of your clothes dryer each and every time you use it. Never smoke in bed and take extra care if consuming alcohol whilst smoking. In Winter take extra care when using heaters, electric blankets or open fires.

What are the 5 stages of fire safety risk assessment?

Fire risk assessments

  • Identify the fire hazards.
  • Identify people at risk.
  • Evaluate, remove or reduce the risks.
  • Record your findings, prepare an emergency plan and provide training.
  • Review and update the fire risk assessment regularly.

What is the Code of practice for fire safety in buildings?

Clause A1.2 (a) This Code provides the Performance Requirements as well as prescriptive requirements (Deemed-to-Comply provisions) for achieving an adequate level of fire safety in buildings. (b) To comply with this Code, a fire safety design should comply with the Performance Requirements in Section 2.

What are the fire safety regulations in Scotland?

In Scotland, requirements on general fire safety are covered in Part 3 of the Fire (Scotland) Act 2005, supported by the Fire Safety (Scotland) Regulations 2006. In the majority of premises, local fire and rescue authorities are responsible for enforcing this fire safety legislation.

When do fire safety managers have to report to the Commissioner?

(1) Every fire safety manager shall in the month of December of each year prepare and submit to the owner or occupier of the specified premises by whom he is appointed a report containing the particulars set out in paragraph (2) and in such form as the Commissioner may require.

How long can a fire safety manager be suspended?

(1) The Commissioner may, at any time, suspend for a period not exceeding 12 months, or revoke, the certification of any fire safety manager under regulation 10 (5) or (5A) if —