What is the scientific name for a whale?

Cetaceans/Scientific names

What are whale species called?

There are around 90 species of whales, dolphins and porpoises, known collectively as “cetaceans”.

How many genus of whales are there?

89 species
Cetacea is an infraorder that comprises the 89 species of whales, dolphins, and porpoises….Family Balaenopteridae: rorquals.

Common name Common minke whale
Scientific name Balaenoptera acutorostrata Lacépède, 1804
Status LC IUCN
Population 200,000
Size 2–4 t (2.2–4.4 short tons)

What genus is a beluga whale?

Beluga whale/Genus

Is a beluga whale a dolphin?

Belugas are toothed whales, and are not part of the oceanic dolphin family. They are classified under the Monodontidae family, which only consists of two species: belugas and narwhals.

Are belugas friendly?

“Unlike killer and pilot whales, and like some human societies, beluga whales don’t solely or even primarily interact and associate with close kin,” said lead author Dr Greg O’Corry-Crowe.

What is a female whale called?

All whales, dolphins and porpoises are descendants of land-living mammals, most likely of the Artriodactyl order . They entered the water roughly 50 million years ago. Male whales are called bulls, females are called cows, and the young whales are called calves.

What is the genus and species of a whale?

The gray whale is the sole living species in the genus Eschrichtius, which in turn is the sole living genus in the family Eschrichtiidae . This mammal descended from filter-feeding whales that appeared at the beginning of the Oligocene , over 30 million years ago.

What genus does the whale belong to?

Whales, like all other animals, fit into scientific categories and sub-categories, which use Latin names. The whales, including porpoise and dolphin, belong to the Phylum Chordata, Class Mamalia, and Order Cetacea.

What genus species is a killer whale?

The killer whale, or orca, is a carnivorous marine mammal found throughout the world’s oceans. It is the only species in the genus Orcinus. Despite its name, the killer whale is not actually a whale and is instead the largest member of the dolphin family. The distinctive colouration of killer whales is thought to provide camouflage when hunting.

What are the largest species of whales?

The blue whale is not just the largest whale species, it is also the largest known animal in the world. Blue whales can grow to be 98 feet (30 meters) in length, but they have been known to weigh upwards of 173 tons.