How do I find my NYC zoning?

New York City is broken into zoning districts. These zoning districts can be found on the NYC Zoning Maps or by using Zola, the NYC Zoning and Land Use website. You can use Zola, the NYC Zoning and land use website, to look up your zoning district.

How do I find out the zoning of my property?

Visit your local zoning office, city hall, or some other local planning board and get a copy of your local ordinance. In some areas, if you have a legal description of the property (name, address, tax map, and parcel number), you can call the zoning office or city hall, or even e-mail your request for information.

What is ZoLa NYC?

Zoning and Land Use Application (ZoLa) It’s now easier to research zoning regulations, find your property’s zoning, and discover neighborhood proposals and City Planning initiatives. Built entirely on open data, the new ZoLa is 100% open source, works on any device, and allows you to save and share your research.

How does zoning work in NYC?

The City is divided into three basic zoning districts: Residential (R), Commercial (C), and Manufacturing (M), which are then further divided into low, medium, and high density districts. The NYC Zoning Resolution can be found in its entirety on the Department of City Planning’s website.

How does zoning work in NY?

New York City’s Zoning Resolution divides land into districts where similar rules are in effect. Zoning regulations are assigned to these districts based on relevant land use issues. Zoning regulations set limits on how a property owner may use land (rather than requiring them to use it in a particular way).

What does R3X zoning mean?

low density residential zoning
R3X Zoning is a low density residential zoning contextual district in NYC. You can only build single family or 2 family homes that are detached in R3X. The R3X Zoning District is a contextual sub district of R3 Zoning in NYC.

What is R5 zoning in NYC?

R5 districts allow a variety of housing at a higher density than permitted in R3-2 and R4 districts. With a height limit of 40 feet, R5 districts provide a transition between lower- and higher-density neighborhoods and are widely mapped in Brooklyn, Queens and the Bronx.

What is a r5 zone?


Is New York City a no-fly zone?

For Helicopters, NYC to Be a No-Fly Zone After several helicopter crashes, New York officials have drafted legislation to ban all commercial helicopter traffic over the city in safety and noise-reduction efforts. Chris Sommerfeldt, New York Daily News | October 26, 2019

What are the districts in NYC?

The city of New York is divided into five districts, called boroughs: Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens, el Bronx y Staten Island, and these in turn are divided into neighborhoods.

Which time zone is New York City in?

New York Time Zone. New York is in the Eastern Time Zone in the United States of America (USA). Eastern Standard Time (EST) is 5 hours behind Greenwich Mean Time (GMT-5).

What is the area of New York City?

New York is as large as 468.9 square miles