What are 4 major groups of organic molecules?

The four major classes of biological macromolecules are carbohydrates, lipids, proteins, and nucleic acids.

What are the 4 organic molecules and the monomer subunit of each?

Proteins, carbohydrates, nucleic acids, and lipids are the four major classes of biological macromolecules—large molecules necessary for life that are built from smaller organic molecules. Macromolecules are made up of single units known as monomers that are joined by covalent bonds to form larger polymers.

What are the subunits of organic molecules?

Organic Subunits

  • Carbohydrates, nucleic acids and proteins are all comprised of monomeric subunits that join together to form larger polymers.
  • Lipids do not contain recurring monomers, however certain types may be composed of distinct subunits (e.g. triglycerides)

What are the 4 classes of organic molecules and their functions?

There are four major classes of biological macromolecules (carbohydrates, lipids, proteins, and nucleic acids); each is an important cell component and performs a wide array of functions. Combined, these molecules make up the majority of a cell’s dry mass (recall that water makes up the majority of its complete mass).

Which is the most abundant organic compound in the human body?

Lipids are usually the most abundant organic compound in the body, even in lean adults with comparatively little stored fat tissue, making up 15 to 20 percent of the body’s mass. They have a lot of carbon and hydrogen but comparatively little oxygen compared to carbohydrates of similar molecular mass.

What is difference between organic and inorganic?

The key difference between organic and inorganic substances is that all organic substances contain carbon as an essential component whereas inorganic substances may or may not contain carbon.. An organic compound refers to chemical substances that contain carbon in their structure.

What are the four classes of organic molecules?

four major classes of biologically important organic molecules: carbohydrates lipids proteins (and related compounds) nucleic acids (and related compounds) •For each organic molecule class, address what they are (structure) and what they are used for (function).

What are the 5 nitrogenous bases of nucleic acids?

The nitrogenous base is attached to a 5-carbon-sugar (ribose or deoxyribose) and attached to the sugar is a phosphate group (PO 4 ). The five nitrogenous bases are: Adenine, Guanine, Cytosine, Thymine and Uracil. Notice that all of them, except uracil, sound similar because they end with “-ine.” Cytosine, thymine and uracil are pyrimidines.

What makes a nucleic acid an organic compound?

Organic Compound #4: Nucleic Acids. Our definition of a nucleic acid is very similar to the definition we gave for proteins. While proteins are coiled up chains of amino acids, nucleic acids are coiled up chains of nucleotides.

How are the different types of biomolecules related?

Therefore, each functional group of biomolecule has a specific role in cell metabolism. Functional groups of different types of biomolecules are specific groups (moieties) of atoms within molecules that are responsible for the characteristic chemical reactions of those molecules.