What are the types of flagellates?

Flagellate/Representative species

What kingdom does flagellates belong to?

Kingdom Protista
In a former five kingdom scheme of classification, the protozoans belong to Kingdom Protista and are classified into four groups based on their means of locomotion: the flagellates, the amoeboids, the sporozoans, and the ciliates.

What are the general characteristics of flagellates?

Flagellates. Flagellates are characterized by the possession of one or more flagella, which are long, tapering, hair-like appendages that act as organelles of locomotion and feeding (Fig. 2.1 A).

How do you identify flagellates?

Some flagellates have multiple flagella. This makes them appear “bouncy” and unorganized due to their locomotion mechanism while other higher life forms such as free-swimming ciliates present a more organized locomotion mechanism. This is sometimes helpful in identifying flagellates under the microscope.

What is the scientific name for flagellates?

Flagellate, (subphylum Mastigophora), any of a group of protozoans, mostly uninucleate organisms, that possess, at some time in the life cycle, one to many flagella for locomotion and sensation. (A flagellum is a hairlike structure capable of whiplike lashing movements that furnish locomotion.)

Is the example of the class Flagellata?

Among protoctists and microscopic animals, a flagellate is an organism with one or more flagella. Some cells in other animals may be flagellate, for instance the spermatozoa of most animal phyla. They are from the phylum Mastigophora.

What is pathogenic flagellate?

Flagellates are commensal fauna of the gastrointestinal tract of amphibians. • Flagellate enterocolitis may occur as a direct invasion of a pathogenic species, or it may be the result of chronic stress that causes a population explosion of commensal flagellates.

Is also called flagellates?

Are all Sporozoans Endoparasites?

(i) All sporozoans are endoparasites.

Are flagellates harmful to humans?

In humans and other mammals, several widespread diseases are caused by flagellates. The disease occurs in two stages – 1) haemolymphatic infection of blood and lymph systems; followed by 2) neurological invastion of the central nervous system (irreversible stages) which without medical treatment is ultimately fatal.

What kind of protozoa is a flagellate?

2. FLAGELLATES Parasitic protozoa with whip like flagella Phylum-Sarcomastigophora Subphylum-Mastigophora Class-zoomastigophora 3.

How many flagella are there in a flagellate?

Flagellates are also characterized by the presence of one or more flagella, with one, two, or four a the most common number, and eight and 16 occasionally found in some Pyramimonas species (Prasinophyceae).

How are hemoflagellates classified as dwelling flagellates?

Classification (Depending on habitat)  Hemoflagellates- in blood and tissues – Posess kinetoplast ,1flagellum.  Lumen –dwelling flagellates:in alimentary tract and and urogenital tract – No kinetoplast – multiple flagella 4. Most lumen dwelling flagellates are non pathogenic commensals except: -Giardia lamblia -Trichomonas vaginalis 5.

What kind of organism uses flagella for locomotion?

Protozoa classified as flagellates are, for the most part, single-celled organisms that use flagella for locomotion. Depending on the species, they may possess one or several structures at a given stage of their life cycle.