Who is the current Chief Justice of Supreme Court of India?

Nine new judges, including three women, would be administered oath of office as judges of the Supreme Court by Chief Justice of India (CJI) N V Ramana on Tuesday.

Who was first Chief Justice of Supreme Court?

Chief Justice John Jay
United States Supreme Court Justices Appointed by President Washington

Chief Justice John Jay October 19, 1789 to June 19, 1795
James Wilson September 26, 1789 to August 21, 1798
William Cushing September 26, 1789 to September 13, 1810

Who was first female judge of Supreme Court?

List of Judges in chronology

S. No. Name Notes
1 Fathima Beevi First female judge of the Supreme Court of India
2 Sujata Manohar
3 Ruma Pal Longest-serving female judge of the Supreme Court of India
4 Gyan Sudha Misra

Who determines the Chief Justice?

The Chief Justice. The appointment, role and functions of the Chief Justice are determined primarily by the Constitution and by the Code of Organisation and Civil Procedure (COCP). Chapter VIII of the Constitution provides for the establishment of the Superior Courts – in which Judges sit – and the Inferior Courts – in which Magistrates sit.

Who is the first Chief Justice of India?

The first Chief Justice was Sir Maurice Gwyer and the other two judges were Sir Shah Muhammad Sulaiman and M. R. Jayakar. It functioned until the establishment of the Supreme Court of India on 28 January 1950.

Can a Chief Justice be impeached?

The President, Judges including chief justice of Supreme Court and High courts can be impeached by the Parliament before the expiry of the term for violation of the Constitution. Other than impeachment, no other penalty can be given to a President in position for the violation of the Constitution…

How is the Chief Justice of India appointed?

By consulting the judges in Supreme court and High Court the Chief Justice of Supreme Court is appointed by the President of India. The basic requirements to be appointed as Chief justice is given below: He should be served at least 5 years as High Court justice or by serving at least 10 years as a lawyer in any High Court.