What are the conditions of ARD?
ARD stands for “Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition.” It is a program that all Pennsylvania counties are required to have in place for individuals with no criminal record (or a very limited criminal record) who have been charged with a relatively minor, non-violent offense(s).
How does the ARD program work in PA?
The Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) program is a type of pre-trial intervention program in Pennsylvania. Only non-violent offenders who have no or little prior record are eligible. As such, for a defendant to have their case considered for the ARD program, they waive their right to a preliminary trial.
Is an ARD in Pennsylvania considered a conviction?
In Pennsylvania, a person charged with a first offense DUI is generally eligible for pretrial diversionary program called Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD). ARD does not, and has never resulted in a conviction or finding of guilt.
How much does ARD program cost?
The ARD program cost to you is $1,500 to $2,000. Under the ARD program, the mandatory license suspension depends on the Blood Alcohol Concentration.
Can you get off ARD early?
You can petition the court to close your case early if you have completed all the requirements and have paid all costs and fines. You would need to have a lawyer petition to close your case.
How many times can you use ARD?
The maximum period for ARD is two years, but for most DUI charges the period is one year. Some counties even shorten this period to six months if you have completed all of your requirements.
What are the rules for the ARD program?
These rules contemplate that ordinarily the defendants eligible for the ARD program are first offenders who lend themselves to treatment and rehabilitation rather than punishment and that the crime charged is relatively minor and does not involve a serious breach of the public trust.
What does ARD stand for in Pennsylvania law?
ARD stands for Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition and it is a program that is unique to Pennsylvania DUI law.
How old do you have to be to get ARD in PA?
A person of the age 14 years or younger was in the motor vehicle when the defendant was driving under the influence. Defendants that want to participate in the ARD Program need to submit a written application to the District Attorney’s Office within 30 days of the preliminary hearing.
Can a DUI ARD be a prior offense in PA?
Generally speaking, ARD is NOT considered a “conviction” for most legal purposes. Pennsylvania law does state an ARD acceptance in a DUI case is a “prior offense” of DUI for mandatory minimum sentencing purposes.