What are the types of clouds and their description?

Thus, the 10 types are:

  • Low-level clouds (cumulus, stratus, stratocumulus) that lie below 6,500 feet (1,981 m)
  • Middle clouds (altocumulus, nimbostratus, altostratus) that form between 6,500 and 20,000 feet (1981–6,096 m)
  • High-level clouds (cirrus, cirrocumulus, cirrostratus) that form above 20,000 feet (6,096 m)

What are the 3 main types of clouds describe them?

Cumulus, Stratus, and Cirrus. There are three main cloud types. Cumulus clouds are the puffy clouds that look like puffs of cotton. Cumulus clouds that do not get very tall are indicators of fair weather.

What is the description of clouds?

The definition of a cloud is a visible mass of small water droplets or ice particles which are suspended in the sky. Cloud is defined as a mass of smoke, dust, steam or a mass of things suspended in the air. An example of a cloud is what forms in the air just after a large explosion.

What are GREY clouds called?

Stratus clouds are uniform and flat, producing a gray layer of cloud cover which may be precipitation-free or may cause periods of light precipitation or drizzle.

What are the 10 basic types of clouds?

The ten fundamental cloud types are: cirrus (Ci), cirrocumulus (Cc), cirrostratus (Cs) – also known as the high clouds; altocumulus (Ac), altostratus (As) and nimbostratus (Ns) – the middle level clouds; cumulus (Cu), cumulonimbus (Cb), stratocumulus (Sc), and stratus (St), which are classified as low clouds.

What are the different types of clouds and their meaning?

The Different Types Of Clouds And Their Meanings High Clouds. Clouds are classified as high clouds when they occur at altitudes of 6096 meters (20 000 feet) or higher. Middle Clouds. Middle clouds usually occur at altitudes of between 2000 meters (6 500 feet) and 6096 meters (20 000 feet). Low Clouds. Low clouds are formed at altitudes of below 2000 meters (6 500 feet). Multi-level Clouds.

What are names of different types of clouds?

The list of cloud types groups the tropospheric types as high ( cirrus , cirrocumulus , cirrostratus ), middle (altocumulus, altostratus), multi-level (nimbostratus, cumulus, cumulonimbus), and low (stratocumulus, stratus) according to the altitude level or levels at which each cloud is normally found.

What are the names of the cloud types?

As seen in the photos above of the most common types of clouds, low clouds include cumulus, stratus, and stratocumulus; middle clouds include altocumulus and altostratus; and high clouds include cirrus, cirrocumulus, and cirrostratus. If low stratus clouds are raining, they are usually called nimbostratus.