Who won the 2020 Bharat Ratna?

The last Bharat Ratna award was given to Bhupen Hazarika, Pranab Mukherjee, and Nanaji Deshmukh in 2019. No Bharat Ratna Award has been given in 2020 and 2021.

Who got Bharat Ratna 2021?

Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan (1987) And Nelson Mandela (1990) are two non Indians of Bharat Ratna Award Winners….Bharath Ratna Award Winners List India from 1954 to 2021.

S.No. 14
Name Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri (Posthumous)
Awarded Year 1966
Birth/Death 1904 –1966
About him/her 2nd Prime Minister of India, Independence activist

Who is the first foreigner to receive Bharat Ratna?

Correct Option: A. Though usually conferred on Indian citizens, the Bharat Ratna has been awarded to one naturalised citizen, Mother Teresa in 1980, and to two non-Indians, Pakistan national Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan in 1987 and former South African President Nelson Mandela in 1990.

Who won Bharat Ratna first time?

Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman
The provision of Bharat Ratna was introduced in 1954. The first ever Indian to receive this award was the famous scientist, Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman.

Who won Bharat Ratna non indian?

There is no written provision that Bharat Ratna should be awarded to Indian citizens only. The award has been awarded to a naturalized Indian citizen, Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu, better known as Mother Teresa (1980) and to two non-Indians – Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan and Nelson Mandela (1990).

Which is the 2nd highest civilian award in India?

Padma Vibhushan
The Padma Vibhushan (“Lotus Decoration”) is the second-highest civilian award of the Republic of India, after the Bharat Ratna. Instituted on 2 January 1954, the award is given for “exceptional and distinguished service”, without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex.

Who is the youngest Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award?

shooter Abhinav Bindra
In 2001, sport shooter Abhinav Bindra, then aged 18, became the youngest recipient of the award.

Who is the first non-Indian to receive the Bharat Ratna?

Nelson Mandela was the first non Indian to be awarded with the Bharat Ratna. There is no formal provision that recipients of the Bharat Ratna should be Indian citizens.

Who were the first “Bharat Ratna” Award winner?

The first recipients of the Bharat Ratna were politician C. Rajagopalachari, philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan , and scientist C. V. Raman, who were honoured in 1954. Since then, the award has been bestowed upon 48 individuals, including 14 who were awarded posthumously.

Which player got the Bharat Ratna?

Cricket icon Sachin Tendulkar is the only sportsperson to have been conferred with the Bharat Ratna thus far. There has been a steady demand for Dhyan Chand to be bestowed the honour. Born on August 29, 1905, Dhyan Chand was arguably the face of sports in pre-independent India and for many years after 1947 as well.

Who got Bharat Ratna after his death?

Indira’s son Rajiv Gandhi was awarded Bharat Ratna posthumously after he was assassinated by LTTE in 1991. Subhas Chandra Bose (1992) In 1992, a press release was published to confer the award posthumously on Bose which was later cancelled by the Supreme Court in 1997.