Did Barry Bonds win a Home Run Derby?

Giants: Barry Bonds, 1996 The original two-inning, five-outs-per-inning Home Run Derby format didn’t give the participants much time to hit double digits (hence why the format changed in later years), but 17 was a Derby record when he did it in 1996, and naturally, Bonds is the Giants’ only winner to date.

Who won MLB Home Run Derby?

Alonso crushed 35 home runs in the first round, the highest single-round total of the night, and 23 homers in the final round to beat Mancini. He previously won the 2019 Home Run Derby at Progressive Field in Cleveland as a rookie.

Did Ryan Howard ever win the Home Run Derby?

2006 — Ryan Howard, Philadelphia Phillies Howard won the 2006 NL MVP with 58 homers and added the Derby title to his trophy case with a win at Pittsburgh’s PNC Park.

Who has the longest home run in 2021?

5 days ago
Miguel Sanó
Twins’ Miguel Sanó hits 495-foot home run, longest of 2021 season.

What is the longest home run ever hit in a Home Run Derby?

Trevor Story Hits Longest Home Run In Home Run Derby History, Then Trumped By Soto. DENVER (CBS4) – Trevor Story has rewritten the Home Run Derby history books. His 518-foot home run was the longest ever to be hit in the competition.

What is the Home Run Derby record?

Shohei Ohtani’s 513-foot home run Ohtani averaged a home run distance of 465 feet, setting a record for the longest single-round average in any Statcast-tracked Derby dating back to 2016.

What is the most home runs hit in the Home Run Derby?

Most single-derby home runs

Rank Player Total
1 Vladimir Guerrero Jr. 91

Who are the winners of the Home Run Derby?

The current overall record is held by Vladimir Guerrero Jr. at a mark of 91, set in 2019. Only two participants, Yoenis Céspedes and Giancarlo Stanton, have won the Home Run Derby without being selected to the All-Star Game. 8 players duel in a home run challenge.

When did the Home Run Derby start in MLB?

The Home Run Derby has been a part of MLB’s All-Star break since 1985, and it has seen some monumental moments from winners and non-winners alike. This database tracks the winner from each year’s derby, along with a few other interesting tidbits about the winner’s season. Cespedes hit 2 in swing off after first round.

When did Cal Ripken Jr win the Home Run Derby?

The Derby expanded to a three-round format in 1991, where players had 10 outs to hit as many home runs as they could with the top four advancing to Round 2 and the top two squaring off in the final. Ripken won the Derby in the midst of his AL MVP Award-winning campaign.

When did Giancarlo Stanton win the Home Run Derby?

Giancarlo Stanton poses with the trophy for Frequency Annual Location Varies (site of MLB All-Star Game) Inaugurated 1985 Most recent July 8, 2019 ( Progressive Field, Clevel