Who are the host countries for the 2015 Rugby World Cup?

This would be purely to indicate interest; no details had to be provided at this stage. A record 10 unions indicated formal interest in hosting the 2015 and/or the 2019 events: Australia, England, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Russia, Scotland, South Africa and Wales.

How many football games does RTE Sport show?

RTÉ Sport broadcasts a lot of association football tournaments. It showed 64 live games during the 2010 World Cup and that was 200 hours of programming. These were the team of association football pundits that RTÉ Sport announced ahead of the 2010 World Cup.

When did South Africa bid for the 2015 Rugby World Cup?

The South African Rugby Union (SARU) had confirmed its intent to bid for the 2015 tournament, and in May 2009 South Africa delivered its application to the IRB. South Africa had previously made an unsuccessful bid to host the 2011 RWC.

When did England bid to host the Rugby World Cup?

England’s package was projected to generate £300m for the IRB – £220m in commercial returns from broadcasting, sponsorship and merchandising, and the £80m tournament fee. Italy stated its desire to host, and an Italian bid to host the Rugby World Cup in 2015 or 2019 was confirmed on 20 July 2008.

Who are the teams in the 2011 Rugby World Cup?

Twenty teams competed in the 2011 World Cup. Twelve teams qualified by finishing in the top three of their pool in the 2007 Rugby World Cup. Twelve of the nations at this tournament had competed in every previous Rugby World Cup – Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, France, Ireland, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Romania, Scotland, and Wales.

Who was the host of the Rugby World Cup in 2005?

The International Rugby Board (IRB) selected New Zealand as the host country in preference to Japan and South Africa at a meeting in Dublin on 17 November 2005. The tournament was won by New Zealand, who defeated France 8–7 in the final.