What does NSCV stand for?

The National Standard for Commercial Vessels (NSCV) provides standards for vessel survey, construction, equipment, design, operation and crew competencies for domestic commercial vessels.

How long does a certificate of operation last?

Five years, unless an earlier date is mentioned on the certificate.

Which commercial vessels require a stability book?

These are generally required in the following situations:

  • Vessels operating in Area Category 0 or 1.
  • Vessels carrying 16 or more persons.
  • Vessels carrying cargo greater than 1000kg.
  • Vessels fitted with a lifting device.
  • Vessels engaged in towing.
  • Pilot boats.
  • Sailing Catamarans.

What is a Master 5?

The Master 24M commonly known as Master 5 applies to people working in the maritime industry seeking an Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA) certificate of competency in the capacity of: master on commercial vessels up to 24 m in length within the exclusive economic zone (EEZ) or.

What is a workboat?

: a boat used for work purposes (such as commercial fishing and ferrying supplies) rather than for sport or for passenger or naval service.

What does part F mean in NSCV part E?

Part F means Part F — Special vessels of the NSCV. pre-operating check means a check of the readiness of the vessel and crew to proceed to sea. Chapter 1 Preliminary Section 1.5 6 National Standard for Commercial Vessels Part E Operations NSCV Part E-131129Z.docx

What does non conformance in NSCV Part B mean?

non-conformance means a circumstance in which a procedure or other requirement mentioned in an operation requirement has not been followed. NSCV Part B means Part B — General requirements of the National Standard for Commercial Vessels as existing from time to time.

How are national standards adopted in the NSCV?

Note Section 1.7 in NSCV Part B provides that national, regional or international standards adopted or incorporated by reference in the NSCV are adopted or incorporated by reference as in force from time to time. However, where an International Standards Organisation (ISO) standard is

What are the operation requirements for a Class 4 vessel?

(a) for a Class 1, Class 2 or Class 3 vessel — the operation requirements in Schedule 1; and (b) for a Class 4 vessel — the operation requirements in Schedule 1 that apply for the vessel and the operation requirements in Schedule 2.