What are the subtests of the WISC-V?

WISC-V Structure The WISC-V is actually made up of 10 subtests, yielding 5 scores, each one a summary measure of a certain ability. These are called Verbal Comprehension, Visual Spatial, Fluid Reasoning, Working Memory, and Processing Speed.

What does WISC IV stand for?

The Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children (WISC-IV) is an individually administered IQ test used with children aged from 6 to 16.

What are the core subtests of the WISC?

Three new primary subtests — Visual Puzzles, Figure Weights, and Picture Span — measure the ability to analyze and synthesize information, quantitative reasoning and induction, and visual working memory.

Why is Wisc-v important?

A key WISC -V goal is to enable test users to make sound interpretations about examinee ability and to support identification or placement decisions by providing measures that accurately capture general intellectual ability, as well as profiles of relative strengths and weaknesses across different aspects or domains of …

What is the difference between WISC-IV and V?

® The WISC-V replaces its predecessor, the WISC-IV, which has been used for years as an IQ test given to kids between age 6:0 and 16:11. The subtests on the WISC-V include verbal comprehension, working memory, processing speed, learning and memory, fluid reasoning, and visual spatial reasoning.

Why is Wisc v important?

Is the WISC valid?

The majority of the subtest reliability coefficients across special groups are similar to or higher than those coefficients reported for the normative sample, suggesting that the WISC–IV is equally reliable instrument for assessing children who are developing typically and children with clinical diagnoses.

What does the vocabulary subtest on the WISC IV measure?

In addition to a Full Scale IQ, the WISC IV also yields four “Composite” standard scores in the areas of verbal reasoning, perceptual reasoning, working memory, and processing speed. It is composed of subtests that measure nonverbal abstract reasoning skills, perceptual reasoning, and perceptual organization.

Are there any new subtests for the WISC V?

The WISC-V (Wechsler, 2014a) offers several new subtests, a new arrangement of index scores, and myriad score options. These changes and the associated terminology are new to those of us who have used the WISC-IV (more so for those of us who used the 1949 WISC [Wechsler, 1949]).

What are the subtests of the WISC-IV FSIQ?

The WISC–IV FSIQ is comprised of all 10 subtests that comprise the four index scores, including additional measures of working memory and processing speed. The WISC–III FSIQ included only one measure of processing speed and one measure of working memory in the FSIQ.

How are index scores calculated for WISC IV?

Calculate index scores by summing the 10 subtest scaled scores. Use Tables A.2 through A.6 to look up composite scores. 4. Table A.7 calculates prorated scores for VCI and PRI. Use judiciously. 5. Table A.8 calculates by age the scaled scores for the process scores. 6. Table A.9 converts subtest and process raw scores to Test-Age Equivalents.